You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Five Panthers named for Origin opener

Five Panthers players have been named in the New South Wales squad for the State of Origin opener at Accor Stadium next Wednesday night.

In-form fullback Dylan Edwards will make his Origin debut after being named in the number one jersey. 

Panthers playmaker Jarome Luai has been named at five-eighth alongside Nicho Hynes, however Matt Burton and Luke Keary have been named on an extended bench as cover for the Sharks halfback.

Winger Brian To'o and back rower Liam Martin have been named in the starting side, while Panthers co-captain Isaah Yeo has been selected on the interchange.


1. Dylan Edwards (Panthers)
2. Brian To'o (Panthers)
3. Stephen Crichton (Bulldogs)
4. Joseph Suaali'i (Roosters)
5. Zac Lomax (Dragons)
6. Jarome Luai (Panthers)
7. Nicho Hynes (Sharks)
8. Jake Trbojevic, capt. (Sea Eagles)
9. Reece Robson (Cowboys)
10. Payne Haas (Broncos)
11. Liam Martin (Panthers)
12. Angus Crichton (Roosters)
13. Cameron McInnes (Sharks)
14. Isaah Yeo (Panthers)
15. Haumole Olakau'atu (Sea Eagles)
16. Spencer Leniu (Roosters)
17. Hudson Young (Raiders)
18. Matt Burton (Bulldogs)
19. Luke Keary (Roosters)
20. Mitch Barnett (Warriors)
Coach: Michael Maguire

Acknowledgement of Country

Penrith Panthers players and staff respect and honour the traditional custodians of the land and pay our respects to their elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.