You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The four pools of the 2016 Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines will be revealed live on Wednesday morning.

The live draw event will begin at 10am New Zealand time (8am Australian daylight savings time) on Wednesday November 18, with the 16 NRL clubs to be split into four groups of four teams in Pool Hunua, Pool Waiheke, Pool Rangitoto and Pool Piha.

The draw will be conducted by Queensland State of Origin coach Mal Meninga and New Zealand actress Kylie Bax.

The tournament will run over two days on Saturday February 6 and Sunday February 7 at Eden Park, Auckland.

Each nine-a-side game is played over two nine-minute halves, with clubs naming a squad of 18 for the tournament. A whopping $NZ2.6 million in prize money is up for grabs in the 2016 tournament.

After a round robin format in each pool, the top two teams will advance to the quarter-finals.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs will be defending their 2015 Auckland Nines title, having beaten the Cronulla Sharks in the 2015 final. Issac Luke, who lifted the trophy as the Rabbitohs captain this year, could make his debut for his new club the Warriors in the tournament alongside fellow star signing Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

This article first appeared on

Acknowledgement of Country

Penrith Panthers players and staff respect and honour the traditional custodians of the land and pay our respects to their elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.