You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Literacy for Life, the Panthers' lower back sponsor for 2014, has been formally recognised in NSW Parliament and has been commended for it's outstanding work in the community.

Here's a copy of the motion that has been passed:

Motion by the Hon. CATHERINE CUSACK agreed to:

(1) That this House notes that:

(a) the Literacy for Life Foundation was formed in 2013 by three prominent Aboriginal leaders, namely Pat Anderson, Donna Ah Chee and Jack Beetson, in partnership with Brookfield Multiplex, to drive the National Aboriginal Adult Literacy Campaign across Australia and conduct the National Aboriginal Adult Literacy Campaign;

(b) the Literacy for Life Foundation is a sustainable campaign that helps communities help themselves—the impact will be far-reaching and felt beyond just literacy itself; and

(c) on 14 March 2014, in the presence of Rugby League Legend, Phil Gould, the following graduated from the National Aboriginal Adult Literacy Campaign:


(i) from Bourke: Denis Edwards, Steven Johnson, Craig McKellar, Grant Monaghan, Hogan Shillingsworth, Keisha Shillingsworth, Andrew Smith, June Smith, Kelvin Smith, Sharnie Thurston, Wade Thurston, Edward Barker, Chelsea Dennis, Dell Edwards, Gail Edwards, Janelle Edwards, Lori-lyn Edwards, Maria Edwards, Patricia Edwards, Victoria Harris, Blaine Knight, Rebecca McKellar, Beryl Powell, Gerald Smith, Mona Smith and Melissa West;

(ii) from Wilcannia: Ann Currie, Alfred Harris, Steven Harris, Genevieve Johnson, Edna Sloana, Vera Thomas and Johnathon Whyman;

(iii) from Enngonia: Raymond Barker, William Cubby, Brooke Edwards, Bettyanne Edwards, Justin Edwards, Stephanie Gillion, Zorica Johnson, Jarrod Kelly, Kara Kelly, Taryn Kelly, Tammy Parka, Samuel Shillingsworth, Garren Smith, Gordon Sullivan and Maxwell Sullivan.

(2) That this House congratulates and commends all those who graduated from the Literacy for Life Foundation's Nationals Aboriginal Adult Literacy Campaign.

(3) That this House acknowledges and commends staff and facilitators in the campaign that have assisted the graduates with their successful learning: Lillian Lucas, Ursulla Carmelia, Fiona Smith, Rick Elwood, Mary Edwards, Judy Shillingsworth, Valda Bates, Owen Whyman and Ronnie Whyman.

(4) That this House acknowledges and commends for their outstanding contribution to the Literacy for Life Foundation's Nationals Aboriginal Adult Literacy Campaign and the community: Jack Beetson—Executive Director Literacy for Life; Donna Ah Chee—Chairperson Literacy for Life; Pat Anderson—Chair of the Lowitja Institute; Ben Bartlett—Planhealth; Bob Boughton—University of New England; Deborah Durnan—Campaign Technical Adviser; Dhanyi Carroll—Adviser; Jenelle Whitehead—MPREC; Bourke Community Working party, chaired by Alastair Ferguson; Wilcannia Community Working Party, chaired by William Bates; Bourke Aboriginal Health Service; Murrawari Local Aboriginal Land Council, chaired by Judy Shillingsworth; Wilcannia Local Aboriginal Land Council, chaired by William Murray; Wilcannia Central School; Institute of Pedagogy for Latin America and the Caribbean [IPLAC]; Manuella Taboada—Queensland University of Technology; Joan Richards—Rotary Club of Sydney; and Don Aroney—Brookfield/Multiplex.

(5) That this House acknowledges and commends Mr Phil Gould for his continued outstanding service to youth, and welfare and education needs of the Aboriginal community.

Panthers is very proud to be associated with such a worthwhile program.

Acknowledgement of Country

Penrith Panthers players and staff respect and honour the traditional custodians of the land and pay our respects to their elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.